“You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.” -Madeline L’Engle

december collage

This is a total hodgepodge.  I’ve been drafting different little posts in my head for a solid three weeks; there is so much that I’ve wanted to write out.  But there has been so much real life, combined with a healthy dose of wasting time on Pinterest, that almost a month has passed and I’m falling behind on shopping/wrapping/baking/merrymaking and oh, yeah, I’m going to have a baby in a few weeks.

+I’ve been doing a ton of pinning lately.  I made a secret board to save gift ideas for different people, and have two wishlist boards that I love- one for Milo and Elliott, and one for myself.  I also get tons of teaching ideas that my first grade team actually uses all the time.  Some people get frustrated on Pinterest because they feel like the products and room ideas and DIYs and wardrobes can be taunting and make you feel less-than, but I see it more as an escape.  If I pin it, I’m at least the kind of person who appreciates it, and I love to dream.

+Last week I got diagnosed with gestational diabetes.  I was crushed.  I had slightly elevated numbers with Milo, but when I took the 3 hour, more extensive test, I was in the clear.  This time, my numbers were JUST high enough during the 3 hour test that they diagnosed me, ordered me a blood sugar testing kit, and set me up with a diabetes counselor.  I felt better after understanding that its different than Type 2 diabetes and it goes away after birth.  The modified diet is easy (I’ve dieted on and off for my entire adult life) and totally worth it, and testing my blood sugar 4 times a day was only scary at first.  My numbers are totally in check, even when I allow myself a small treat (I may have had a latke on Hanukkah day at school) and I only have a few weeks left of this particular way of life.

I am a little sensitive about the diagnosis and am really against getting any advice or stories from people who haven’t a) had gestational diabetes or b) are my midwife.  I always knew that people love to give pregnant women advice, but having an additional situation going on turns everyone into a health expert.  This isn’t to say I’m ungrateful- I don’t know what I would do without the help of recent mothers who have reached out to me or answered my frantic questions during both pregnancies.  But then there’s that whole other camp of people who want to recount their entire 30-year-old labor to you, or help you understand how they actually know that your baby is a girl and will be born in three weeks, no matter what the medical professionals tell you. I’ve been thinking about drafting a suggestion post to the blog Adulting about appropriate things to say to any pregnant person.  (Hint: there’s only one thing.  “You look great.  How do you feel?”)

+In other news, I’m starting to get to a grumpy point in my pregnancy.  Sustaining life for two straight years is slightly wearing on me.  Again, I know I’m blessed, I love my sons, and I am so proud to be MAKING A HUMAN…but I’m tired, and I want a beer, and that is real.

+Also, I wrote another letter to Elliott.

+I just realized that Christmas is about a week away.  It happens every year that I start very early (pre-Thanksgiving) to organize and make plans, lull myself into a false sense of security, and then BAM, it’s too late to order stuff online and I need to do more wrapping than there is time and some uninspired gifts slip under the tree.  We did finish and mail out our cards and I love how they look, and our tree and home decor is super cozy.  Milo was up at 4 and back to sleep by 6:30, so who knows what our day will look like, but we are Christmas shopping and wrapping this weekend.  Ben also has a birthday on the 22nd, and I always try to make sure that we honor and celebrate that separately.  We’ll hunt down some good treats!

+I’m finally getting old enough to semi-dread the hecticness of Christmas travel.  My family is really spread out and we always ping pong all over the place to see each other.  On one hand, it’s perfect, because the holidays are truly the best time to be with family, and on the other hand, it is so exhausting that it flies by and then is over before it registers.  I’m trying to rest up and get centered before the craziness begins.

+Here are some really happy, funny, sweet videos that I loved over the past few weeks:

 

+I don’t want to focus too much on the terrible things that happened in Newtown, CT.  I feel compelled to talk about it as a teacher, and as a parent, and as a human who heard about terrible things happening in a place just like where I live.  I feel so sad for the families and the school community that has to rebound and pray that the school can feel like a safe place for all those teachers and kids again soon.

+To wrap up, I’m really, really looking forward to a quiet weekend with my two favorite guys.  Milo and I will run errands and have a lunch date today, and then tomorrow we might even do our own family Christmas.  I want to watch some Christmas specials with Milo and take some time to be peaceful before everything ramps up.

What are you looking forward to?  What random thoughts are floating through your mind?  No matter how December is treating you, make sure to treat yourself well.

One thought on ““You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.” -Madeline L’Engle

  1. I am looking forward to sitting on the couch with you as Milo runs to and fro with little treasures in his hands. I look forward to listening to you laugh with your sisters and if I am really lucky, we will all sing a song or two together.

Leave a Reply

