“She refused to be bored, chiefly because she wasn’t boring.” Zelda Fitzgerald

1. The above picture is from the 4th of July cookout we went to at my friend Shelly’s house.  She lives wayyyy off the beaten path on a gorgeous piece of land with animals and a barn and a hunter boyfriend who grilled up some delicious venison.  I also had a seafood chowder with fresh caught wild lobster.  I basically feasted and then lounged in the heat, drowsily watching little babies toddle around.  Happy Birthday, America. (We’re catching fireworks this Friday in a nearby town that always does them the following weekend.  This takes off the pressure of finding a good spot on the holiday itself…and frees up time to go see Cars 2 and cry about the demise of Pixar.)

2.  The professional stage of the bathroom redo is finished.  We have a new tub and tiling (acrylic), a new vanity and medicine cabinet, and fresh soft grey walls, thanks to Ben’s stellar painting skills.  We still need to lay down a new floor, throw on some baseboard, and do the trim and ceiling in fresh white.  Already it feels like a place that I’m not terrified to wash a baby in.  Plus it’s cute.  I’m in the market for a funky print that will be the perfect finishing touch.

3. My summer is flowing already and I freaking love it.  Last summer was an emotional disaster for me- I’m not positive why.  I think it was a combination of stagnation (no new living situation, no new grade, no new classroom, etc.) and I also truly believe that my soul was ready for the next stage of my life (beebas?) but my brain was fighting me tooth and nail.  Long story short, I spent an inordinate amount of time sneaking cigarettes and reading chick lit on my back porch, eating too much takeout for lunch, and feeling creepily depressed.

This summer is still in it’s infancy, but I already have FOUR different summer classes scheduled/started, a new classroom to organize, a gig teaching summer school, a garage sale planned, and a vacation to Florida at the very end of the summer to keep me motivated through all the sweaty work ahead.  I have a strong desire to sew SOMETHING for Milo before he comes, and lots of finishing touches to add to his nursery.  I also have a punch list of house projects that I would love to have completed before my family visits for my baby shower on Labor Day weekend.

Even with Ben up to his elbows in movie madness, I have a full plate to keep me occupied until school starts again- and once that happens, I will be in full preparation mode for my maternity leave.  After Milo, I doubt I’ll ever be bored again.

2 thoughts on ““She refused to be bored, chiefly because she wasn’t boring.” Zelda Fitzgerald

  1. Zelda Fitzgerald was such an incredible woman. Every single one of her quotes is insightful and humorous – even the ones written by other people about her are excellent. Thanks for this!

Leave a Reply

