>home is wherever i’m with you

>

(image via weheartit)

(image via weheartit)

(image via weheartit)

As I’m typing this, Ben is slaving away in the bedroom where he has been for over two hours.  He’s assembling the dresser that we bought at Ikea yesterday.  The one we impulsively picked up even thought we had forgotten to measure before we left for the store.  The one that I decisively declared would “definitely fit.” The one that, once Ben had finished the frame, was exactly half an inch too big for the nook where our old dresser was.  What kept the dresser from fitting?  The cast iron radiator that is officially the bane of Ben’s existence.

I’m kind of secretly excited about this.  I love trying to figure out new furniture configurations, and our bedroom is a challenge beyond comparison.  It’s smaller than my parents’ walk-in closet in the house I grew up in, and closet/radiator placement doesn’t leave a lot of room for imagination.  Good thing I have a an awesome imagination.

Going to Ikea yesterday with Ben was pretty inspiring.  We’re settling into this house, picking paint colors with more intention, and excepting that we have to start moving vertically for storage/decoration.  We spent a lot of time looking at bookcases and wall shelves.  Our house is less than 1000 square feet including a wrecked basement and a huge two season porch.  The usable space is small and oddly laid out.  But we are making it cozier and cozier.

We’re working on a few small projects today, and more snow is in the forecast, which might free up some painting time in my schedule.  I’m really, really happy with the way our hobbit house is coming together, and I can’t wait to show you some pictures once I have all the project debris tidied up.  In the meantime, I left some pictures of inspiring interiors to keep you dreaming.  What have you done to fancy up your living space lately?

p.s. I have been rocking out my 25 while 25 list; I’ve actually finished two in the last few weeks, and I want to get my books-read list going, as well.  Documentation to follow!

Leave a Reply

