>making a statement

>I spoke a few posts ago about wanting to create a personal mission statement. A little poking has lead me to a few great sites! Instead of following any templates steadfastly, I’m starting by listing what I want to be known as, and then using this awesome values list to write down every value that I want to incorporate into my life. I’m not really editing too much right now.

The only thing that I’m finding difficult is the difference between values that I admire and values that I actually want to embody. For instance- elegance. I adore elegance. I love to look at elegant pictures and imagine myself moving seamlessly through my day. But I am rounded and goofy and clumsy in many ways, and if I insist on a life where elegance is a cornerstone, I’m going to be constantly disappointed. I settled for the equally lovely but more appropriate ‘grace’ as a value. I can be graceful on occasion, but grace also applies to a certain something that you can extend to others, and just like that, I have one value doing double duty.

Here is what I have so far:

What do I want to be known as?
wise
crafty (as in maker of crafts)
intelligent
graceful
healthy
stylish
creative
nurturing

Values I like!
family
assertiveness
happiness
health
hospitality
intelligence
joy
self esteem
preparedness
simplicity
efficiency
tradition
well-being

I’m going to take this magic and start editing, finding overlaps, and make sure that the values represent where my life is RIGHT NOW. I’m sure all of it will change in the next five years. I also want to pin down two or three goals to make sure those goals line up with the values I like. I’ll keep you all updated.

What do you think? Do any of our goals match up? Tell me what values you like!

Leave a Reply

