>Reading List for 2009

>I know that it sounds corny but I really don’t care; the blank slate feeling of the beginning of a new year is so delicious to me. I don’t care if I don’t keep one single resolution, I still love planning and making them. I have some really great ideas for getting my silly self settled in 2009, and one of the things that I am most looking forward to is a reading list.

I love lists. I love to read. This marriage is natural and right. For many of my adult years I’ve been returning the comfort of the Harry Potter books and my favorite chick lit novels, but recent conversations with fellow book-lovers has lead me to realize that I stuck in a narrow mindset, and I want to branch out. So I’m asking you for help.

I know of one book that I want to read, called World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War by Max Brooks. Ben asked for this for Christmas, and I’m already intrigued by the deadpan reporting that is setup interview-style in this book. My husband’s fascination with zombies is one of the only horror standbys that we can experience together without my shriveling into shuddering pile of tears, so I’ll definitely win cool-points if we can discuss this over the dinner table. By the way, that’s another resolution. Use the dinner table. Discuss things over it.

What other books do you think I should read in 2009? Don’t think about Ashlie, lover of children’s literature and champion of the Oprah’s book club selection. Think of something you love, or something you think every person should read, or just something that would take me out of my comfort level and give you amusement as I struggle through. I am indebted to every single suggestion.

If I have enough books from you all, I’ll make an official list and make it my business to at least briefly comment on each one. Who knows, maybe by the end of 2009 my reading list will have morphed me into a cosmopolitan reader who can hold my own in any NPR book discussion! At the very least, I’m smiling at the prospect of yet another list to love and consider following. Happy reading!

P.S. Happy birthday to my handsome husband! I love going through these crazy years with you!

One thought on “>Reading List for 2009

Leave a Reply

