>Little girl, you’re in the middle of the ride.

>This has definitely been one of those exhausting weekends that throws everything you think into sharp relief. I hate the way my life is playing out like an afterschool special on adjusting to married life, and I hate how I keep finding myself pouting as if I was the only chick to ever feel half woman/half child. I spent time with almost everyone I know this weekend, and hit all the different groups of people who I go on “outings” with, and experienced fun the way I know it in Clinton, Boston, and Ipswich. All I’ll say for now is, I’m going to stop trying to please everyone and stop trying to please myself. I’ve got enough to do without thinking about it all the time.

On a happier note, my house is looking cuter every day. I made some major changes to the office, integrating a metal rolling cart with aqua shelves from the 40s or 50s, and making space for the futon that we officially have two weeks to buy (Juju’s coming!). Ben’s mom gave us some very cute country style chairs and we have a table and a letter-writing desk waiting at her place. I’m headed back for a museum trip later this week, and I’ll bring some more treasures home. We’re also working on a quilt made from all the tshirts I have left over from college and Florida that I don’t like wearing. It’s the perfect solution for the shirts you inevitably rack up that are seven sizes too large or small or neon. I’m so excited to have such a cozy thing that I actually made.

Ben had a really hard day at work today, so I’m going to head into the kitchen and start fixing him his favorite Mexican feast of tacos and nachos. I bought everything at the local Shaws, but I have been doing horribly with my non-corporate summer. Over the weekend I ate from Dunkin Donuts twice, bought from Whole Foods once, and I’ve been in and out of Big Lots before I realized that they were in Florida, too. This is definitely harder than I thought it would be, but I’m not going to give up. I’ll keep you posted.

One thought on “>Little girl, you’re in the middle of the ride.

Leave a Reply

